top of page

The Day I Knew

It all started at a Love Week event. "Love Week" is a week-long event that my church organizes every year. Throughout the week, opportunities are created for us to come together, serve our community, connect with and love on countless people. This year, "Love Week" was happening during the same exact time we were leaving for vacation, so I wasn't sure if I'd be able to find a project I could participate in.

I quickly scrolled thru the options and there was one that instantly caught my eye. The project asked us to write thank you notes and help put together gift bags for the volunteers at our local pregnancy clinics.It was an event writing thank you notes and putting together gift bags for volunteers at our local pregnancy clinics. This particular group project was led by my pregnancy loss support group leader, Jess.

Just 2 days before, Jess had gotten her second foster baby placement. She brought him to our project. As people started to leave, I got to spend time with her little guy. Without hesitation, he came to me and cuddled his little face into my neck. Then he picked up his head, flashed me the world's cutest grin and snuggled back down into me. It was in that very moment, my heart was wrecked (in the best way possible). This little boy, whom I had never met before and didn't know anything about his family or where he came from, was loving me.. my heart just burst. I was in love and in that moment, I was all-in for adoption.

In prepping to leave, I was talking to my friend, Emily. We were chatting about life, husbands and kids. We talked about adoption and I told her that it was something that Derek and I had discussed but that the "timing" never felt right. Little did I know that in a matter of days, the timing would be perfect! God is so good!

xoxo Lauren


SUBSCRIBE
VIA EMAIL

RECENT POSTS

bottom of page